# Student Advisory Group

Open Forum February 12, 2004





# The Selection of the President

- Fiduciary responsibility of the Corporation (MIT's board of trustees)
- The Executive Committee recommends a nominee for election by the full Corporation
- The Corporation Committee on the Presidency informs the work of the Executive Committee





# **Timing**

- An aggressive search timeline is in place.
- A goal is to have a new president in office sometime in the Fall.
- President Vest will serve until a successor is selected.





# Corporation Committee on the Presidency: Members

- Mr. James A. Champy '63, chair, Perot Sys.
- W. Gerald Austen, M.D '51, Harvard Medical School
- Mr. Gordon M. Binder, Coastview Capital, LLC
- Mr. Denis A. Bovin '69, Stearns & Co., Inc.
- Mr. Dedric A. Carter '98, American Management Systems
- **Dr. Arthur Gelb '61**, Four Sigma Co.
- Professor Edie N. Goldenberg '67, U.Mich
- Dr. Paul E. Gray '54, MIT
- Dr. Dana G. Mead '67 (ex officio)

- Dr. Paula J. Olsiewski '79, AlumAssoc
- Dr. Frank Press, Washington Advisory Group
- Dr. Kenan E. Sahin '63, TIAX LLC
- Ms. Susan E. Whitehead, Whitehead Institute
- Mrs. Barrie R. Zesiger, Zesiger Capital Group LLC

#### **Consultants to the Committee:**

- Mr. Alexander V. d'Arbeloff '49
- Mr. Howard W. Johnson
- Dr. David S. Saxon '41
- Dr. Kirk Kolenbrander, Staff





# Faculty Advisory Committee to the Corporation

 The Corporation Committee on the Presidency and the Faculty Advisory Committee will largely work as one, with co-chairs, until the very end.





# Faculty Advisory Committee to the Corporation: Members

- Jerome Friedman, Physics and Institute Professor, Chair
- Rafael L. Bras, CEE, EAPS and Chair of the Faculty, ex-officio
- Sylvia Ceyer, Chemistry
- Peter Diamond, Economics, Institute Professor
- Lorna Gibson, MSE
- Stephen Graves, Sloan School of Management
- Paula Hammond, Chemical Engineering
- Kenneth Manning, Rhetoric and History of Science, Secretary of the Faculty

- Wanda Orlikowski, Sloan School of Management
- Rafael Reif, EECS
- Paola Rizzoli, EAPS and Associate Chair of the Faculty
- Bishwapriya Sanyal, Urban Studies and Planning
- Isadore Singer, Mathematics, Institute Professor
- Marcus Thompson, Music and Theater Arts
- Bruce Tidor, EECS and BED
- Susumu Tonegawa, Biology and Brain and Cognitive Sciences
- Sheila Widnall, AA and Institute Professor





# Student Advisory Group to the Corporation

### Charge:

- To provide the Corporation with a representative student perspective on the challenges facing MIT in this decade.
- To comment on the experience and personal qualities that should be found in the next President.
- To provide nominations of specific individuals for the MIT Presidency.
- To provide additional input throughout the developing process until the next President is selected.



