When you pop-up the Save as... pop-up window, you will be given the options to set the permissions on your file, with options for group and public access. Keep in mind that these permissions are NFS permission. Most lockers, including account home directories, are governed by AFS permissions, which are by directory. Thus, the NFS permissions you set will be irrelevant if you save to an AFS directory. Some directories, such as the local files on a workstation, or the bitbucket locker, are governed by NFS permissions, in which case these permissions will dictate whether your file can be read by others. Refer to the stock answer "Changing AFS PERMISSIONS" under the UNIX topic for more information. Last updated: 9/22/97