Return-Path: <tlnsunkite@wildmail.com>
Received: from fort-point-station.mit.edu by po12.mit.edu (8.9.2/4.7) id KAA24626; Thu, 21 Dec 2000 10:18:08 -0500 (EST)
Received: from c1mailgw05.prontomail.com ([216.163.184.10]) by fort-point-station.mit.edu (8.9.2/8.9.2) with ESMTP id KAA01814; Thu, 21 Dec 2000 10:18:07 -0500 (EST)
Received: from c1web111 (216.163.184.10) by c1mailgw05.prontomail.com (NPlex 5.1.050) id 3A413D2C0001A7F8; Thu, 21 Dec 2000 07:17:29 -0800
X-Version: caremail 6.2.3.3433.0
From: "TerryLynne Norris" <tlnsunkite@wildmail.com>
Message-Id: <FA691C25157D4D115AC40005B83AB900@tlnsunkite.wildmail.com>
Date: Thu, 21 Dec 2000 09:18:12 -0600
X-Priority: Normal
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
To: enforcement@aspca.org
X-Mailer: Web Based Pronto
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Status: O
X-Status: 
X-Keywords:                  
X-UID: 55
X-Evolution: 00000028-0000


Dear Sirs:

I would like to bring your attention to the following e-mail. If this 
is true, please do something to stop it. Even if it is a joke, it's 
disgusting and should be removed from anyone's view.
Sincerely, TL NORRIS


Date:
December 20, 2000


The Cause:
Bonzai Kitten Experimentation and Web Site



A new monstrous web site has been created ostensibly to extoll 
the "art form" of creating "Bonsai Kittens" in a glass jar, and to 
market those "cherished objets d'art," along with the implements 
required to do-it-yourself. The web site is hosted on its own domain, 
Bonsai Kitten, and a mirror site is on the MIT server at a site 
called "blood-on-concrete". CAUTION: The photos on these sites are 
graphic and sickening.

These mirrored sites could have been created as an elaborate hoax, 
with the intention of arousing both the ire of animal lovers and the 
twisted fantasies of deviates. That it has succeeded with both is 
evident by perusing the guestbook on the sites. 

"Words cannot describe my joy at finding your site. You obviously 
share my refined taste in holiday gifts, I only hope you have gift 
certificates or have some ready-made kittens "in the jar" so-to-
speak."--


----------------------------------------------------------------------
----------

"How DARE you do such a thing to an animal! You are going to PAY for 
what you have done to these animals!! You will be hearing from us and 
the Animal Legal Defense Fund Lawyers!" 

The standard response to protesters is that the perpetraters 
have "all the appropriate Bonsai Kittieculture permits required for 
this simple and painless procedure."

My larger concern is that, aside from the "shock value," the creator 
of this site is actually practicing his insane cruelty upon helpless 
kittens. If this is indeed the case, this sicko needs to be 
prosecuted to the full extent of the law. The Bonsai Kitten URL is 
registered to a P.O. Box in New York. That state recently enacted a 
felony statute for cruelty to animals, and this case certainly bears 
investigating. 

NIC Registration information for bonsaikittens.com:

The information can be found here If that page doesn't load, go to 
the WHOIS page and type in "bonsaikitten.com" (without the quotes) in 
the box. 
This site is apparently also hosted on an MIT server, according to a 
Forums post.

Action Requested:

Send a polite but firm email to: 

Jeffrey Schiller (technical contact at MIT) and/or

abuse@mit.edu 
Charles M.Vest (President of MIT) cmvest@mit.edu 


Contact the New York ASPCA's Law Enforcement Department:

Include the registrar information from Network Solutions in your 
email or letter.
NY ASPCA's Humane Law Enforcement
424 East 92nd Street
New York, New York 10128-6804
(212) 876-7700, extension 4450
Email: enforcement@aspca.org

Call the Massachusetts SPCA
"To report cruelty within Massachusetts, call our 24-hour line at 
(800) 628-5808 or (617) 522-6008." 
Other organizations to write.
Another Cats Forum member has posted a list of other organizations to 
write, along with a sample letter. These groups may or may not 
already be involved in this cause. 
What NOT to Do:

Please do not, under any circumstances, email, or call the owner of 
the Bonzai Kitten domain, nor sign his guestbooks. People like this 
thrive on the attention, so don't feed his greedy sickness. 
Do not be hostile or rude to the officials we're asking for help. 
Please couch your emails to the MIT and other personnel politely, 
taking the attitude that you know they will take immediate steps to 
take offending the web site down, and to investigate the experimental 
projects of the web site's founder. The possibility is very strong 
that until today, they were unaware of the existence of this web 
site. 
Thanks, as always, to the supporters of these Action Alerts, and huge 
thanks to Christine, of the Cats Forum, for bringing this atrocious 
site to light.

 
The permanent URL for this Guide Special is:
http://cats.about.com/pets/cats/library/weekly/aa122000a.htm


Care2 make the world greener !

